Passion + Dreams + Action = Happiness

Do you dream of fulfilling a passion? Maybe you put your goal on pause. Many of us wait,  hoping to get around to it at a better time or on another day. Here are some words about fulfilling our dreams that might inspire you.

The future belongs to those who believe in the beauty of their dreams.–Eleanor Roosevelt

All your dreams can come true if you have the courage to pursue them.–Walt Disney

Dreams are the touchstone of our character.–Henry David Thoreau

Also by Thoreau: Go confidently in the direction of your dreams. Live the life you’ve imagined.

Hold fast to dreams, for if dreams die, life is a broken-winged bird that cannot fly. – Langston Hughes

A man is not old until regrets take the place of dreams.–John Barrymore

Imagination is more important than knowledge. ~ Albert Einstein

Dream as if you’ll live forever. Live as if you’ll die today.–James Dean

You see things; and you say, ‘Why?’ But I dream things that never were; and I say, ‘Why not?’–George Bernard Shaw

You are never too old to set another goal or to dream a new dream.–C. S. Lewis

Do not follow where the path may lead. Go instead where there is no path and leave a trail. – Ralph Waldo Emerson

Stare where you are. Use what you have. Do what you can. – Arthur Ashe

If you nourish your dreams, they will flourish. – said by no one famous, just me

Photo courtesy of depositphotos.com

Posted in Uncategorized | Tagged , , | Leave a comment

TWELVE THINGS THE PANDEMIC TAUGHT ME

Now that the pandemic is winding down with fewer cases and more people vaccinated, I reflected on what the crisis taught me. Below are a few of my random thoughts.

  1. I always thought toilet paper was essential, but not being able to find any is a crisis all its own.
  2. Napping can become a habit.
  3. Without a normal routine, it is hard to tell what day it is.
  4. Having witnessed the stress of children at home and not in school, I am thankful to be an empty-nester with grown kids.
  5. I have come to like social distancing from annoying people and might keep the practice.
  6. At long last, family and friends will no longer make fun of me because I refuse to blow out candles on a birthday cake. (Who wants spit on their piece? I don’t!)
  7. Spending more time outside with nature is a stress reliever, except when it comes to bugs, bees, ants, and spiders.
  8. Staying home is a perfect work setup for an author. Also, for doing household chores.
  9. No one looks good on Zoom.
  10. I could have saved myself a lot of time by skipping the makeup routine.
  11. A haircut appointment is more important than I previously thought.
  12. Friends and family are important. They stay in my heart but I have missed their presence.

Photo courtesy of pexels by cottonbro

Posted in Uncategorized | Tagged | 2 Comments

LOOK FOR MY NEW SUSPENSE NOVEL THIS SUMMER

Detective Colt Jessup seeks solace and a break from police work on a Caribbean Island while on administrative leave, following a police-involved shooting. However, a killer has other plans for him.

Jessup’s snorkeling adventure turns dangerous when he takes on gunfire in the water. He isn’t sure if the bullets are meant for him or his friend Jax. Or could the target be the mysterious woman who swims alongside him? Peyton Campbell shows up on the boat for a prepaid outing, part of a package deal for her honeymoon. She claims to be a newlywed, but she shows up without a husband and refuses to explain his absence. Colt believes she is harboring dangerous secrets. Jax ignores Colt’s warnings against becoming involved with her and quickly becomes a willing captive ensnared by her beauty and charm. After another attempt on their lives, Colt joins forces with the local police to find the person responsible. Before they can unravel the mystery, someone is murdered on a sailboat. Was the killing deliberate or intended for one of them? Colt and the police must find the killer before another person ends up dead. RELENTLESS is Book Two of the Colt Jessup series. It can be read as a stand-alone. Fans of Harlan Coben and Stuart Woods will love the fast-paced suspense.

Posted in Uncategorized | Tagged , , , | 1 Comment

HOW I LOST CONTROL OF MY CHARACTERS

            If you are ever around fiction writers long enough, they will eventually say something totally bizarre. They will tell you how their characters took over their story, and they lost control. Sounds crazy, doesn’t it? It happens to me every time I write. There are two kinds of writers: Plotters and Pantsers. I fall into the latter category. A plotter constructs an outline of the entire plot. A pantser lets things flow naturally, or as the title implies, they fly by the seat of their pants. At the start of a new story, I make a feeble attempt at an outline by listing every scene I plan to write; however, I seldom refer to it as a guide. Once I complete the story, I pull out the so-called outline, and I am amazed how much the story changed from my original intent. This happens because I allow my characters to come alive, to say what they want, and to do whatever they want. A writer must be careful to never impose their will onto a character, especially the protagonist, but let them have free rein. I firmly believe this makes for more interesting stories. I sometimes don’t know in advance what the chief character in my series, Homicide Detective Colt Jessup, is going to say or do. All I ask of readers is to come along for the ride and see where the story takes them. It will sometimes be a bumpy ride with twists and turns. Please don’t be too harsh on the novelist. He or she writes to entertain or to invite the reader into a new world,. Don’t expect something remarkable like how to sustain life on Mars or cure cancer. Just enjoy the read and come back for more.

A quote from Stephen King about outlining: “Outlines are the last resource of bad fiction writers who wish to God they were writing masters’ thesis.”

Posted in Uncategorized | Tagged , , , | 1 Comment