LOOK FOR MY NEW SUSPENSE NOVEL THIS SUMMER

Detective Colt Jessup seeks solace and a break from police work on a Caribbean Island while on administrative leave, following a police-involved shooting. However, a killer has other plans for him.

Jessup’s snorkeling adventure turns dangerous when he takes on gunfire in the water. He isn’t sure if the bullets are meant for him or his friend Jax. Or could the target be the mysterious woman who swims alongside him? Peyton Campbell shows up on the boat for a prepaid outing, part of a package deal for her honeymoon. She claims to be a newlywed, but she shows up without a husband and refuses to explain his absence. Colt believes she is harboring dangerous secrets. Jax ignores Colt’s warnings against becoming involved with her and quickly becomes a willing captive ensnared by her beauty and charm. After another attempt on their lives, Colt joins forces with the local police to find the person responsible. Before they can unravel the mystery, someone is murdered on a sailboat. Was the killing deliberate or intended for one of them? Colt and the police must find the killer before another person ends up dead. RELENTLESS is Book Two of the Colt Jessup series. It can be read as a stand-alone. Fans of Harlan Coben and Stuart Woods will love the fast-paced suspense.

Posted in Uncategorized | Tagged , , , | 1 Comment

HOW I LOST CONTROL OF MY CHARACTERS

            If you are ever around fiction writers long enough, they will eventually say something totally bizarre. They will tell you how their characters took over their story, and they lost control. Sounds crazy, doesn’t it? It happens to me every time I write. There are two kinds of writers: Plotters and Pantsers. I fall into the latter category. A plotter constructs an outline of the entire plot. A pantser lets things flow naturally, or as the title implies, they fly by the seat of their pants. At the start of a new story, I make a feeble attempt at an outline by listing every scene I plan to write; however, I seldom refer to it as a guide. Once I complete the story, I pull out the so-called outline, and I am amazed how much the story changed from my original intent. This happens because I allow my characters to come alive, to say what they want, and to do whatever they want. A writer must be careful to never impose their will onto a character, especially the protagonist, but let them have free rein. I firmly believe this makes for more interesting stories. I sometimes don’t know in advance what the chief character in my series, Homicide Detective Colt Jessup, is going to say or do. All I ask of readers is to come along for the ride and see where the story takes them. It will sometimes be a bumpy ride with twists and turns. Please don’t be too harsh on the novelist. He or she writes to entertain or to invite the reader into a new world,. Don’t expect something remarkable like how to sustain life on Mars or cure cancer. Just enjoy the read and come back for more.

A quote from Stephen King about outlining: “Outlines are the last resource of bad fiction writers who wish to God they were writing masters’ thesis.”

Posted in Uncategorized | Tagged , , , | 1 Comment

Author Podcast Interview

I recently had the honor of being interviewed by Landis Wade for Charlotte Readers Podcast. On the podcast, I talk about crafting my newest novel, ROCK BOTTOM. You can listen to it here. I feel sure you’ll learn more about the book and possibly a few interesting things about me. ☺

And if you like contest and giveaways, here is a good deal for you.

In honor of the 200th episode of Charlotte Readers Podcast coming on April 13th, Charlotte Readers Podcast is giving away gifts.

Sign up for the podcast email newsletter list a/k/a The Book Report  HERE  by April 12th to be eligible to win. 

Prizes include:

Kindle

Beats Flex Wireless Earphones 

Plus, other prizes, like wine coolers, beer mugs, hats, flasks, etc

Eligibility and other terms for 200th episode giveaways: Must be on the Charlotte Readers Podcast newsletter email list as of April 12, 2021 to be eligible to win. Winners will be announced in the April 13, 2021 newsletter a/k/a The Book Report. Announced winners forfeit their prize unless they send a return email with their mailing address in response to the April 13, 2021 newsletter by 5:00 pm EST on April 20, 2021 to claim their prize. 

Be on the look-out for announced winners in the April 13, 2021 email newsletter, a/k/a The Book Report

Posted in Uncategorized | Tagged , , , | Leave a comment

THE TIME THIEF

On Sunday, the switch to Daylight Savings Time stole an hour from us. I like how we have one more hour of daylight; however, I am not happy about losing that one precious hour. You’ve heard the phrase, “Time is money.” Yes, it is valuable, but do we use it wisely? Take the following survey and see how you fare.

Answer Yes or No

1.When you retire (if you haven’t already) will you wish you had spent more time with your family and friends and less time working?

2. If you have lost a loved one, do you wish you had spent more time with them than you did?

3. Do you regret not spending more time playing with your children when they were young?

4. Do you think you wasted too much time worrying over things out of your control?

5. Do you spend too much time dwelling too much on past mistakes instead of living in the moment?

6. If you had it to do over, would you put more time and thought into big decisions?

7. Do you want to set aside more time to meditate, pray, go for a walk or exercise to improve your physical or mental health?

If you answered yes to any (Yikes! I did), perhaps you can make some changes in how you can make better use of your time. I plan to.

Posted in Uncategorized | Comments Off on THE TIME THIEF